GHC Awards Tenure to Four Faculty Members

Posted on: Mar, 15, 2024

Grays Harbor College Logo

From left: Ambrocia Sanchez, Terri Bell, Anita Plagge, and Sean Lyons.
Grays Harbor College Board of Trustees awarded tenure to four faculty members. The announcement was made at the board meeting on March 14.

The newly announced, full-time tenured faculty at GHC are:

Terri Bell, Math

Ambrocia Sanchez, Nursing

Sean Lyons, Chemistry

Anita Plagge, Biology

Terri Bell

Terri Bell started her education at Olympic College in Bremerton where she earned an associate of arts degree.  She went on to get a bachelor’s degree in both Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of Washington before getting a Master of Science in Mathematics from the University of Nebraska.  She is currently working on her second master’s degree, in Computer Science and Systems, from the University of Washington with an expected completion date of spring 2025.  Terri has been with GHC since 2021.

Ambrocia Sanchez

Ambrocia Sanchez has been with GHC since 2018 while also working as a nurse with Grays Harbor Community Hospital.  She is a GHC alum, graduating with an Associate of Science in Nursing before getting both her bachelor’s degree in Nursing and her master’s degree in Nursing from Western Governors University.



Sean Lyons

Sean Lyons studied at the State University of New York at Oswego, earning a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry, a Bachelor of Science in Adolescent Education: Chemistry, and a Master of Science in Education in Curriculum & Instruction: Chemistry.  He went on to also receive a Master of Science in Chemistry from Utah State University.  Sean has been with GHC since 2021.

Anita Plagge

Anita Plagge has been with GHC since 2020.  Anita earned a Bachelor of Science in General Biology from Eastern Michigan University before moving on to Point Loma Nazarene University where she earned a Master of Science in General Biology.  Anita has also taken continuing education coursework at Adams State University and San Diego Mesa College.

The process before tenure is awarded includes a three-year probationary period of rigorous peer and student evaluation, self-evaluation, support for professional growth, and increasing levels of college and community services.

“Congratulations to our newly tenured faculty!  We are thrilled to have you on board on a permanent basis and I am continually impressed by you and your work,” said GHC President, Dr. Carli Schiffner.  “Congratulations also to all of the faculty who moved forward in the tenure process. We are proud to have such a robust and talented faculty here at GHC.”