Board of Trustees

The board is composed of five trustees who are appointed by the governor of Washington and confirmed by the Senate. The trustees represent the public interest and ensure the basic fiscal integrity of the college.

Current Board Members

Dr. Harry Carthum

Dr. Harry Carthum (Chair)

Appt. Nov. 2014. Educational Consultant and co-owner, Westport Property Dev. Former: Retired public school admin. BA, English, N. Park College; M.Ed. Sp. Ed., Central WA Univ.; Ed.D. Educ. Ldrshp., Seattle Univ. Current: Past-Pres., Westport Grayland CoC; Pres., Capital Region ESD 113 Board of Dir.; Member, WA Assn. of School Admin.; Member, Greater Grays Harbor, Inc.; Board Member, Community Opportunities for Parenting Education (COPE). Former: Member, Council for Exceptional Children; Board Member, WA Assn. for Retarded Citizens; Board Member, WA Assn. for Supervision and Curriculum Dev.

Rebecca Chaffee

Rebecca Chaffee

Appointed 2004. Reappointed Oct. 2007 and Oct. 2012. Board Chair, 2014-15, 2010-11 and 2006-07; Vice Chair, 2013-14 and 2009-10. Manager, Port of Willapa Harbor. Former Public Works Director, City of Raymond. BS, Civil Eng., Univ. of Washington. Current: Board Director, Craft3, Cascadia; Willapa Bay Hardwoods, Inc.; Pacific Co. Housing Authority; Pacific Co. Econ. Dev. Council; Pacific Council of Governments; Raymond Planning Commission; Willapa Comm. Development Association. Former: Valley View Community Health Center.

Denise Portmann

Denise Portmann

Appointed April 2011; Reappointed October 2015. Board Chair, 2015-16 and 2012-13; Board Vice Chair, 2014-15. Resident and Chief Executive Officer, Bank of the Pacific. Bachelor’s of Science, Accounting, Central Washington Univ.; Certified Professional Accountant (CPA). Current: Member, AICPA; Member, WSCPA; Board Member, Grays Harbor College Foundation. Former: President, Citizens for Willapa Valley Schools.

Arthur Blauvelt

Arthur A. Blauvelt

Appointed October 2011. Reappointed October 2016. Board Chair, 2013-14; Board Vice Chair, 2015-16. Partner, Ingram, Zelasko & Goodwin; Municipal Court Judge, City of Elma; General Counsel, Port of Grays Harbor. Former Montesano and McCleary Municipal Court Judge. BA, English Literature, Western Washington State Univ.; Juris Doctorate, University of Puget Sound School of Law. Current: Secondary Rep., ACT Leg. Action Comm. Member, Grays Harbor Former Board Member: Grays Harbor Farmers Market, Timberland Opportunities (former Pres.), Timberland Regional Library (former President).

Fawn Sharp

Fawn Sharp

Appointed 2004. Reappointed October 2008 and November 2014. President/Executive Director, Quinault Indian Nation. AA, Grays Harbor College, 1988; BA, Gonzaga University; JD, University of Washington, 1995. Current: Primary Rep., ACT Legis. Action Comm.; Chair, The Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians; Member, Board of Governors, State Bar Association; Co-Chair, National Congress of American Indians, Sovereignty Protection Initiative.

2017-2018 Meeting Notes

All regular meetings take place in Room 4331 in the Schermer Instructional Building on the Grays Harbor College campus.

May 15, 2018 – 2:00 p.m. (Meeting Agenda)